A New Gallery in Harlem

Guest post by Tiffany O’Neal, Special Assistant to the President, TASC

I love exploring art galleries. If you were to happen upon my Facebook pics, you’d see I’m that person who takes pictures of the art hanging on the walls and the sculptures along the hallways. I’ll even pose with them as if I’m posing with a friend. So of course I had a great time at yesterday’s opening reception for the Rush Gallery at the Thurgood Marshall Academy Lower School (TMALS), an ExpandED School in Harlem.

TMALS partnered with the Rush Philanthropic Arts Foundation to create this gallery, which features the work of the school’s students, teachers and staff. Students serve as gallery docents, and I experienced how eager they are to explain and showcase their work. On this particular day the gallery featured three pieces; Eyes in the Sky (pictured above), A Contemplative Gaze, and Mediating Constellations.

I enjoyed seeing the older students walk the younger ones through the gallery.  And just like when I have explored the Met or the National Gallery of Art, I found myself just standing and staring at the pieces, admiring both their simplicity and complexity.

I am also that person who touches the art, and I have had my fair share of scolding. Fortunately the student docents are little more understanding.

The Rush Gallery at TMALS will feature these pieces for the next three weeks and then display new ones. The public may visit on school days between 8 AM and 2 PM; just call the school to make an appointment: 212-368-8731.