21st Century Report Cards

Sample 12th grade report card

Photo by Sorcyress, on Flickr

Jess TonnThis design contest by GOOD got me thinking about how little information report cards actually report to kids and their families. Honestly, I get more data about my performance when I finish a Scrabble game on my iPad.

Judging by the report card above, this student is smart. But what this report card doesn’t tell you is that (poetic license alert) she’s a promising public speaker, as she demonstrated in her defense of Othello in her English class. That she earned extra credit in Calculus by tutoring younger kids in algebra and geometry every week. Or that she impressed her teacher by taking the initiative to write a series of letters from the point of view of a WWI soldier for her final history project, rather than handing in a standard research paper.

I certainly don’t have the design chops to enter the contest, but let me offer my two cents for anyone who does: Take a look at badges. Not only are they visually interesting, but they also offer a way for report cards to capture the types of qualities, experiences and skills that numbers will never bring to life. I’m looking forward to a badge-filled report card of the future.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , by Jess Tonn. Bookmark the permalink.

About Jess Tonn

Jess is TASC’s Web Communications Manager. She manages TASC’s website, social media channels (Facebook, Twitter, Vimeo, and YouTube), video production, email communications, and this blog. In her past professional lives, she could be found writing for Education Week, tending the grounds at the Tufts University European Center or keeping the plants alive in various parks and community gardens throughout the five boroughs.